Rainer, 13 months (AKA – breaking the radio silence) 

**I just found this really scatterbrained update on Rainer that I never published because I thought that wordpress accidentally deleted it. Here it is about a month late.**

I’m well aware that it’s been months since I posted last. Not that I ever post regularly, but c’est la vie. I needed to take a step back, but I’m back and ready to write about those topics I love most.
So, Rainer is now 13 months old. He is even sweeter than ever. 

This age is one of my favorites, where they are still very much baby and just barely a toddler. He still wants cuddles, even more than before actually. Remember that time I wrote about sleep training?? Hah. Well, I think he fell out of it by February…? Don’t get me wrong, we needed him to be sleep trained when he was. And having him sleep trained was glorious and very much needed for awhile. But then teething happened and a virus and then low milk supply, and this Mama just really wanted to rock her baby to sleep after awhile. It might not be as convenient as before, but it’s what I want now. I am only trying to gradually get him back in the habit of putting himself to sleep though.


Around 10 months old I began supplementing little man. He had stopped gaining weight and never seemed satisfied after nursing. And so with a lower milk supply (and counsel from his pediatrician), I began to give him formula several times a day coupled with nursing sessions. In the beginning I felt really sad. Supplementing was totally new to me, but I eventually felt much at peace once I saw how much happier and fuller he seemed to be. I think it’s safe to say that he is now officially weaned as of just a week ago. My milk supply has almost diminished. Honestly I’m trying not to dwell on the fact that we’re no longer nursing – because it would just be too sad to think about – so I’m just coping with cuddles at nighttime.


But really though, he is so much more affectionate now, especially with his dad! His favorite word is “Daddy.” Not “Dada,” but “Daddy.” He says it all the time. If I mention Ross’ name once, he will chant “Daddy, Daddy” over and over again. If he hears a car outside the window, he looks out babbling “Daddy, Daddy.” Once Ross gets home he’s just “Daddy, Daddy, Daddy.” You get the picture. It’s too adorable. Of course he will refuse to say “Mama.” If I ask him to say “Mama,” he will repeat “Daddy.” I guess it’s my turn, because Lúthien wouldn’t say “Daddy” for the longest time! The rest of his vocabulary (that he actually uses and doesn’t just repeat) so far just consists of “yummy,” “doggy,” and “hi.” He understands a lot more now though, and even though he knows the signs for “more” at the dinner table his favorite method of asking for more food is screeching.


Speaking of food, both of my children have decided to be picky at the same time! It’s become a bit of a problem with Lúthien all of a sudden, which I’m trying to curb by reducing snacks (and it’s been helping! along with some patience…). Rainer loves his protein. He’s all about his eggs in the morning and loves most meat. Avocado, blueberries, apple, and banana are among his favorites, but he shuns sweet potato and broccoli (Lúthien’s favorites when she was his age). And of course, he loves his carbs. And little man made it serious business to eat as much birthday cupcake as he could. Ok…so I guess Rainer’s not that picky. I was never picky as a child, so I guess I have a higher standard…lol.

By the way, we got a DOG. Probably not the most prudent decision, but it happened, and I’ve always dreamed about having a pet when the kids are little versus big kids. My husband is in love, and so is Rainer. Lúthien and I are pretty partial (lol), but he’s a great dog and Ross is training him very well. His intention is to bring him bird hunting and Brego is performing very well in the training sessions! He’s about 6 months old now.



As far as milestones go, Rainer is not quite walking yet, but I believe we are just days away! He has been taking his first steps little by little, and today he has his first few steps of 4-8 at once. I am so excited, because I was hoping he’d start walking before our trip to Virginia to see my family in July.

Leave a Reply

