7 Quick Takes, Vol 5 – What’s Up 

It’s been quite a while, but here we go! I’m typing this on the fancy smancy WordPress app on my phone, while my husband uses my laptop. 

One 


This book. I initially put it on my reading list after the Fountains of Carrots podcast did an episode of it last summer. Wendell Berry is an author I’ve heard great things about but had not yet read. Though I am only one third of the way into the book, I have already managed to cry twice. Berry does an incredible job of conveying such beauty and truth through the simplicity of Hannah Coulter’s story. This book is in danger of becoming a new favorite. 

Two 

This guy. This past month he has begun to show up so much more personality, and he is such a delight! He is now pulling up to standing, as evidenced by the photo. So if he has any notion of refusing to nap, he’ll just stand up at his crib rail. Funny thing is though, he hasn’t figured out yet how to sit down from a standing position. He has a lot of upper body strength, but his chunky, fat legs don’t match. So he’ll often fall backwards, and just today I put the baby walker back in the closest because he was just not ready. He’s eager, but his lower half needs some work, haha! 

Three


This man. Last weekend, we went to the New Orleans’ New York Life annual kick off banquet. This was the first fancy work event that we have ever attended as a couple together, and we had an absolute blast. I was a little hesitant because I didn’t know what to expect, but everyone was welcoming and pretty easy going. Ross and I had the best time on the dance floor. We could have stayed much longer, but we left around ten so I could be home in time to nurse Rainer. I am still reeling from how much fun we had. Fun fact, it took a while for me to finally decide on an outfit – whether or not I should get my MoH dress for my best friend’s wedding this summer and wear it to this – and I ended up going with one that I got four years ago before our own wedding when I worked at LOFT. 

Four 

I recently started going to a bible study with some wonderful women, and I am loving it so far. I had been meaning to go for months, and they started back up again after a little hiatus. While I have a few friends in the study, I didn’t previously know the others. Most of my friends are married and are moms as well, while not everyone in our bible study fits that description. It’s been meaningful to hear more from single ladies and working wives, when I am so often in my “mom bubble.” 

Five

Speaking of community, I have been reflecting lately on how grateful I am to have such a wonderful community of friends and family here. Not everyone has that, and I am reminded of when we lived in West Houston for 10 months and had no friends at all there except for family. It is such a blessing to share in fellowship with other moms and young families. It is also a blessing to have such wonderful and generous in-laws just a couple miles away. I honestly don’t mean to brag, that’s not what I’m getting at, I am just grateful for what we have because I know what it’s like to not have a community nearby. 

Six


My daughter. Shout out to her, because she is beautiful, wonderful, and such sweetness. She is surely trying to help sanctify her mother and teach her patience through her toddler ways. 

Seven 

This is so silly, but I got a haircut before me and Ross’ banquet night and I’m slowly beginning to love it. Yes, so silly and probably vain but hey that’s what’s up lately. I loathe taking selfies, so here’s a super awkward one where you can barely see my hair and my kids look blah. 

There, satisfied? Hah!

Now head over here for some much better quick takes! 

Leave a Reply

